Georgia’s ‘Move Over Law’ Strictly Enforced in Villa Rica
In 2003, the “Move Over Law” was passed in Georgia. This law basically states that if you are approaching an emergency vehicle on the side of the roadway, then you must move over or slow to a safe speed. The fine can be up to $500.00 and this violation will count 3 points on your driver’s license. The Villa Rica Police Department fully supports this law and strictly enforces it. We are asking the public to be aware of this and understand that it is not just a courtesy anymore. It is the Law.
“Georgia’s Move-Over-Law was meant to reduce the number of injuries and fatalities to police officers, paramedics, firefighters, tow truck operators and highway maintenance workers”, according to Director Bob Dallas of the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.
In 2003, of the 132 police officers who died in the line of duty, 49 were killed in traffic-related incidents. Twelve of those officers were struck and killed while working outside their patrol cars.
The police are the most at risk of injury and therefore this charge is taken very seriously by police departments around the state.
In Villa Rica, our police department is offering something no other department in the state is offering at this time. If you are charged with violatiing the Move Over Law in our city, we give the violators the opportunity to attend a class at our department. If the violator completes this class our Judge will reduce the charge to a non-moving violation and reduce the fine from $500.00 to $150.00. According to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety Public Relations Director Jim Shuler, “This is a very innovative way to get the word out about the Move Over law”.
If you have any questions about the Move Over Law, please go to the Governor’s Office Of Highway Safety’s website at: www.gahighwaysafety.org.