Villa Rica Cemetery Commission


The Cemetery Commission serves as an advisory commission whose purpose is to make recommendations to the City Council on the setting of rates, fees, and ordinance amendments for the benefit of the city cemeteries. 


The Cemetery Commission is composed of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor of the City of Villa Rica. Two may be non-voting members designated as Member Emeritus. The City Manager and the City Clerk will serve as ex officio members. The members will be qualified electors of the City of Villa Rica except that not more than two (2) members may be non-residents of the City of Villa Rica.


Meetings of the Cemetery Commission are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 9:00 am at City Hall, 571 West Bankhead Highway, Villa Rica. All meetings are open to the public. All business which the Commission may perform will be conducted in compliance with Georgia's Open Meeting Law, O.C.G.A. §§ 50-14-1.

Appointment Term:

The term of the appointments to the Cemetery Commission will be for three (3) years, without a a limit on the number of terms a member may serve.


Any member who misses three (3) consecutive meetings is considered to have resigned from the Commission unless there are extenuating circumstances.



  • Alfred Wilson Term: 03/01/2019 - 02/28/2022                  
  • Joyce J. Nalls Term: 08/01/2017 - 07/31/2020
  • Monroe Spake Term: 03/01/2019 - 02/28/2022
  • Janice McGhee Term: 03/01/2018 - 02/28/2021
  • Nancy Stolz-Jeffares Term: 05/01/2018 - 04/31/2021
  • Cheryl Defoor-Bryce Term: 06/01/2019 - 05/31/2022
  • Dee Johnson Term: 06/01/2020 - 05/31/2023
  • Ex-Officio Members: Tom Barber, City Manager and Alisa Doyal, City Clerk

Anyone interested in serving on the Cemetery Commission will need to complete an application and submit to City Clerk Alisa Doyal @ or deliver to City Hall. You may also contact Alisa Doyal at 678-840-1212. The application is available at the link below:


Apply for the Board