Pine Mountain Gold Museum

Pine Mountain Stockmar

We are dedicated to the preservation of Villa Rica’s rich and unique history of gold mining.  The lure of gold attracted Americans to this area in the very earliest days of industrial gold mining.  We are Georgia’s only gold museum that is located on an actual gold mine with gold and gem panning on-site.  In fact, gold is regularly found on Pine Mountain to this day!  Our beautiful 4,800 square-foot museum houses many exhibits of artifacts used to mine gold right here on Pine Mountain or in the hills surrounding Villa Rica.  In addition to gold mining artifacts the museum contains regional artifacts.  Some of these regional artifacts date back as far as 12,000 BC.  The typical museum tour begins with an 18-minute documentary detailing the history of gold and the Villa Rica mines. 

The Scenic Railroad is traveled by our C.P. Huntington engine #310 and an extremely rare tender car.  This engine formerly pulled cars on the Rocky Branch Railroad, and at Zoo Atlanta.  Our rail line winds ¾ of a mile around the base of Pine Mountain and goes directly through the heart of the ruins of a huge gold mining station.  The train allows the visitor to view examples of other exhibits from Pine Mountain’s past including the Stockmar homestead ruins, T-Block factory, and Live Animal Exhibit. 

During Halloween and Christmas every year the Scenic Railroad is taken over by our special cast of ghouls or elves to provide visitors with a unique holiday themed adventure around Pine Mountain.  Seating is limited and by reservation for both Halloween and Christmas events – make sure to call ahead!

A covered gold and gemstone panning area where you may learn to pan with one of our experienced miners.  Anyone that chooses to pan for gold or gemstones is guaranteed to go home with a treasure of their own.  Gold and gemstone pans are $5.00 each.  A pan of “Gemstone Jackpot” is $15.00 and is only available at Pine Mountain Gold Museum.  The panning area closes every day at 3:30PM. 

West Georgia’s only working 1858 gold stamp mill.  One of our miners will demonstrate the operation of this 19th Century machine and explain its essential part in the history of gold extraction.

An authentic operational grist mill and water wheel.

Take a hike through time on our historic hiking trail.  The 27-acre park contains more than two miles of self-guided hiking trails.  These trails wind through the ruins of a huge gold mining station and pass by several vertical shaft gold mines that have never been on public display before today.  Knowledgeable guides are available for history hikes for groups of 15 or more with a reservation. 

A covered pavilion with tables, and a stage adjacent to the museum.  Our pavilion is perfect for birthday parties, weddings, corporate events, scouting, school groups, or any other kind of special occasion.  See the reservations page for photos and more detailed information.  To make a reservation call us directly at 678.840.1445

Visit and interact with all the animals in our Live Animal Exhibit.  See, smell, and hear all the animals you would have found on an 1820s frontier Georgia farmstead.  Animal feed is available in the Museum General Store.   


City of Villa Rica | 571 W Bankhead Hwy Villa Rica, GA 30180  |  Phone: 770-459-7000  |  Fax: 770-459-7003
Contact Us  |  Site Map   |  Powered by MunicipalCMS
E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook